Secondary Standards Dosimetry Laboratory Network

The IAEA/WHO Network of Secondary Standards Dosimetry Laboratories (SSDL Network) was established in 1976 as a joint project between the IAEA and the World Health Organization (WHO).

At present, it includes 80 laboratories and six (6) SSDL national organizations in 67 Member States, of which over half are developing countries.

The SSDL network also includes 15 affiliated members (Primary Standard Dosimetry Laboratories, PSDLs) and 5 collaborating organizations; these supply support to the Network.One of the principal goals of the SSDL network is to guarantee that the dose delivered to patients undergoing radiotherapy treatment in the Member States is kept within internationally accepted levels. During the last years the trend towards the implementation of quality assurance (QA) procedures in radiotherapy has been based on the criticality of biological response to radiation dose, as the probabilities of tumour control and normal tissue complication are closely related to a correct patient dosimetry.

Recent activities of the IAEA towards the SSDL network have not only been addressed to establish metrological institutions of high quality, but also to emphasize the support of the SSDLs to QA programmes for radiotherapy. This is accomplished not only by insuring that the calibrations of instruments provided by SSDLs are correct, but also by promoting the contribution of SSDLs to perform dosimetry quality audits in therapy centers, and if needed, to help perform calibrations of radiotherapy equipment in hospitals.

View Resource

Resource Characteristics

Last Resource Update : 2012

Human Health and Medicine

Organizational Source
Nuclear Sciences and Applications | NAHU - Division of Human Health

Data Type
Scientific Networks

Cancer, radiation dosimetry, radiotherapy, health care