Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Skip Navigation Linksssdl

Secondary Standards Dosimetry Laboratory Network

The IAEA/WHO Network of Secondary Standards Dosimetry Laboratories (SSDL Network) was established in 1976 as a joint project between the IAEA and the World Health Organization (WHO).
At present, it includes 80 laboratories and six (6) SSDL national organizations in 67 Member States, of which over half are developing countries.
Recent activities of the IAEA towards the SSDL network have not only been addressed to establish metrological institutions of high quality, but also to emphasize the support of the SSDLs to QA programmes for radiotherapy. This is accomplished not only by insuring that the calibrations of instruments provided by SSDLs are correct, but also by promoting the contribution of SSDLs to perform dosimetry quality audits in therapy centres, and if needed, to help perform calibrations of radiotherapy equipment in hospitals.

Resource Information

Quality Level Quality-checked by the IAEA Secretariat
Completeness Comprehensive - it covers all SSDL Network members and IAEA Dosimetry lab services to SSDL's
Update Frequency Continually
Last Resource Update 2012
Subject Medical Physics; Nuclear Medicine; Medical Applications of Radioisotopes
Organizational Source Nuclear Applications
Data Type Scientific Networks
Keywords Cancer; radiation dosimetry; Radiotherapy; health care
Contact Point
Page Authors