Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Agenda (CET time)

Follow the link and change the time zone from the top right corner.

Indico Timetable:

The most important initiative on fusion R&D is currently ITER: the international tokamak reactor scale experiment being assembled in France. 
In tokamaks, instabilities can develop under certain operational conditions or as a consequence of a loss of plasma control. 
These instabilities eventually lead to the rapid loss of thermal and magnetic energy, a phenomenon known as plasma disruption.

Plasma disruptions cause thermal and mechanical loading to the tokamak components. Due to the high amounts of stored thermal and magnetic energies in ITER, the in-vessel components, such as the first wall panels and the divertor, will receive significant thermal loads. 
Furthermore, the in-vessel components, the vacuum vessel and the coils in the tokamak must also bear substantial mechanical loads. 
Disruption mitigation will be essential to reducing thermal and mechanical loading in order to guarantee the lifetime of these components.


The event aims to serve as a forum to help coordinate experimental, theoretical and modelling work in the field of plasma disruptions with special emphasis on developing a solid basis for possible mitigation strategies in ITER and next generation fusion devices.

Days and Topics

Monday 20 July 2020 - Consequences

Electromagnetic loads
Heat loads
Runaway electrons

Tuesday 21 July 2020 - Prediction and Avoidance

Machine learning and physics approaches
Avoidance: control aspects

Wednesday 22 July 2020 - Mitigation SPI 

Shattered pellet injection

Thursday 23 July 2020 - Mitigation General 

Alternative techniques and general aspects of disruption mitigation

Programme Committee

Mr Michael Lehnen (Chair) | ITER Organization

Mr Indranil Bandyopadhyay | India

Mr Amitava Bhattacharjee | United States of America

Mr Nicholas Eidietis | United States of America

Mr Alexander Huber | Germany

Mr Akihiko Isayama | Japan

Mr Jayhyun Kim | Republic of Korea

Mr Sergey Konovalov | Russian Federation

Mr Eric Nardon | France

Ms Gabriella Pautasso | Germany

Ms Cristina Rea | United States of America

Mr Carlo Sozzi | Italy

Mr Fabio Villone | Italy

Mr Long Zeng | China

Scientific Secretary

Mr Matteo Barbarino | IAEA