Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Safety Assessment Education and Training Programme


SAET Syllabus Structure graphic.png
                                                                  SAET Syllabus Structure

The Safety Assessment Education and Training (SAET) Programme has been designed to support IAEA Member States with development of required safety assessment capacity and competency. The Programme provides a syllabus describing the knowledge necessary for informed decision-making in the design, licensing and operation of nuclear facilities. SAET courses offer the means to acquire sustainable safety assessment competency and support the development of specialized knowledge essential for assessment and evaluation of safety through practical applications.

SAET: A comprehensive and sustainable training programme

The SAET was developed to:

  • Provide a consistent set of ready to use training modules evaluated by senior experts

  • Ensure content quality and maximum education and training effectiveness

  • Deliver sustainable means for conducting high quality workshops and seminars.

Based on the IAEA Safety Standards and international expertise

SAET takes its roots from the IAEA Safety Standards, especially the Fundamental Safety Principles and the Safety Assessment for Facilities and Activities Requirements. The SAET programme content is based on international best practices and expertise.

Developed for a wide range of training needs

The training programme addresses education and training needs for a wide range of personnel, from those with little or no experience in safety assessment to those seeking to gain specialized expertise in certain areas of safety assessments. The modules are intended for representatives of regulatory authorities, TSOs and plant operators from countries developing new or expanding existing nuclear power programmes seeking to enhance their knowledge of safety assessment.

A multi-level programme – from introductory to analyst training

Incorporating a broad scope of safety assessment training modules, the multi-level programme is organized to accommodate the training of staff from differing professional backgrounds and educational levels.

SAET: A modular approach

Realizing the need for a unified and modular approach to safety assessment training, a team of IAEA professionals and senior experts is continuously developing training materials tailored to the needs of regulators, technical support and operational staff. The safety assessment knowledge modules are divided into two groups:

  • Essential Knowledge – supporting the informed decision-making process

  • Practical Applications - more specialized training for analysts

SAET Essential Knowledge (EK)

The essential knowledge curriculum addresses the fundamental aspects of safety assessment, providing the basis for subsequent specialized training in the areas of deterministic and probabilistic safety assessment.

Training in this curriculum will provide regulators, operators and TSOs with the knowledge necessary for undertaking informed decision-making in their countries.

The Essential Knowledge modules include:

  • Fundamentals of safety assessment

  • Fundamentals of safety assessment: introduction to PSA and DSA

  • Deterministic safety analysis methodology

  • Level one probabilistic safety analysis

  • Level two probabilistic safety analysis

  • Integrated risk-informed decision making

  • Severe accidents

  • Evaluation of engineering factors important to safety

  • Design principles, safety classification, equipment qualification, materials

  • Internal and external events

  • Time factors/ageing, decommissioning

  • Preparation for licensing and commissioning
    o Evaluation of the Safety Analysis Report (SAR)
    o Generic Reactor Safety Review methodology (GRSR)
    o Periodic Safety Review methodology

SAET Practical Applications (PA)

The practical applications curriculum addresses the more advanced safety assessment skills and knowledge, providing specialized training and development of analytical skills in the areas of deterministic and probabilistic safety assessment.

The SAET Practical Applications Programme provides:

  • Training materials

  • Access to the IAEA analytical simulator

  • Specialized courses per request

It facilitates international collaboration through safety analysis exercises, development of common databases and information exchange.

Training in this curriculum will provide regulators, operators and TSOs with the in-depth analysis background necessary for performing safety analysis tasks.

The Practical Applications modules include:

  • Design Basis Analysis (DBA)

  • Design Extension Conditions 

  • Level 1 PSA

  • Level 2 PSA

The scope of the Practical Applications Modules is intended to cover three levels – Beginners Level 1, Intermediate Level 2, and Advanced Level 3. A large portion of the continuing educational experience will be devoted to hands on training and exercises.