Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

7th INPRo Dialogue Forum on Sustainability of Nuclear Energy Systems Based on Evolutionary Reactors
International Project on Innovative Nuclear Reactors and Fuel Cycles (INPRO)

​19-22 November 2013 | IAEA Headquarter, Vienna, Austria

The INPRO Dialogue Forum brings together nuclear technology holders and nuclear technology users and other stakeholders from interested Member States to discuss issues related to sustainable nuclear energy development and deployment. The forum provides a unique opportunity with a number of vendors of evolutionary power reactors presenting exemplary INPRO Methodology assessments of their reactor designs.

The purposes of the 7th INPRO Dialogue Forum are to:

  • Familiarize Member States with the INPRO methodology, with a focus on the sustainability assessment of nuclear energy systems (NESs) and on supporting long range and strategic planning for a successful nuclear power programme;
  • Discuss the assessment of evolutionary nuclear reactors in the areas of safety;
  • Discuss case studies and lessons learned in relation to, as well as support for, ongoing and future projects on national Nuclear Energy System Assessments (NESAs); and
  • Discuss the salient features of evolutionary nuclear reactors that are relevant to the sustainability of an NES, and the important role of vendors in a NESA — particularly in providing necessary design data and information to support the assessment.


Working Documents


Session 1: Opening and IAEA/INPRO Presentations

Session 2: Vendors’ Presentations

 Vendor 1: Mitsubishi on APWR- Sumio Fujii, Tesushi Yuasa (Japan)
    • Part 0. Assessment items selected for 7th Dialogue Forum
    • Part 1. Operational Safety Margins in Design of APWR
    • Part 2. Reactor Vessel Manufacturing and Welding of APWR
    • Part 3. Simplicity and Reliability in Safety System Design of APWR
    • Part 4. Reliability Data of Equipment and CDF of APWR
    • Part 5. Detection of Anomalous Conditions and Safety Analysis of APWR
    • Part 6. Integrated Full Digital I&C System and Advanced Operator Console of APWR
 Vendor 2: Rosatom on AES-2006/MIR.1200- Mikhail Bykov, Denis Kolchinsky (Russia)
Vendor 3: GE Hitachi Nuclear Energy International on ABWR- Kenichi Yasuda (Japan), James A. Beard (USA)
Vendor 4: KEPCO on APR1400- Jong Tae Seo, Han Gon Kim (Korea)
Vendor 5: Candu Energy on EC6- Albert G. Lee, Sabina Boyle (Canada)
Vendor 6: GE Hitachi Nuclear Energy International on ESBWR- Gary L. Miller, James A. Beard (USA)
Vendor 7: AREVA on EPR design- Franck Lignini (France)

Session 3: Closing